Aside

Local Pig.

**This post is about my recent visit to a butchering class at the Local Pig in Kansas City.  There are pictures of pig in the raw form, so if this disturbs you, please look away and come back tomorrow for another awesome food post.**

Image

Local Pig is a butcher shop in Kansas City.  They are known for their sausages (among other items) and take pride on using local farmers for the freshest cuts of meat.  About twice a month – on Sundays – Local Pig hosts a “whole hog” butchering class.  When signing up, I wasn’t sure how I was going to react to a “whole hog,” but thought this experience was worthy enough to overcome any fears I had. Image

This place was hard to find and I was five minutes late.  I don’t like to be late, but that feeling was dismissed when I was welcomed by a group of men waiting for the class; some had trouble finding the place as well.  Included in the cost of class was beer and Italian meatballs (awesome!).  I didn’t have any beer, but there was one guy who drank enough for the both of us.

300 lbs of hog on the table was ready to be cut by people who have some, little, or no experience in butchering.  It was already cut in half and looked very clean – there were no hooves, tail, head, organs, etc.  ImageWe surrounded the table after washing our hands and took turns on the basic cuts. I was the first one to cut due to where I was standing.  Under the direction of Myles (a butcher at LP), I cut the kidney (or maybe liver?) out and pulled a chunk of fat away from the ribs.  Turn #1 done successfully!  During some of my other turns, I got to saw the loin, and cut out the femur bone.

Image

I had such a fabulous time.  The people in class were nice and supportive, and we laughed quite a bit.  Myles the butcher is good at what he does and is so knowledgeable!  Since going through this class, I feel more confident in the kitchen and if I am in the wilderness, and need to cut a rabbit for my people, I can!

Image

I sawed that edge of the loin! Look how clean that is!

6 thoughts on “Local Pig.

  1. Butchering class, how interesting! I wish we got one here!
    When I watch “Julie & Julia” I thought it would be nice to learn how to bone a duck. Doing a whole hog must be a whole other level! 😀

    • Yes, it was an experience! A duck would be so cool! 🙂 The Local Pig also has a class on how to make sausage; I might sign up for that one soon too!

      • When I was a kid, I often saw my Grandma made traditional homemade Chinese Sausage. I was not allowed to join in because I was kinda well-known for my clumsiness and carelessness. ha ha ha
        I think you should sign up for the class if you got the time to do it. It should be fun! 😀

      • Yes, you’re right! I’ve seen it made on t.v., but I think learning and making it myself takes it to another level. For some reason, I’m more nervous about the sausage making class than the butchering class. ha!

      • You are more nervous about sausage making class? Really? 😀
        Well, if you do take the class, I hope you will share the experience in your blog. I am super curios! 😀

Leave a Reply

