Image

Pork and Cabbage.

Pork and Cabbage.

I got to use some of the pork I cut during my butchering class at the Local Pig. In my last post, I forgot to mention that each person in the class got to bring home 10 lbs of the pork.

For this meal, we used the pork chops. I didn’t realize that they were super thick, so I had to cut them – while cutting them, I had a flashback to the butchering class. Awesome place.

The pork chops were seasoned, lightly floured, and pan fried. I did tenderize them a little to cut down on the cooking time. Since this is my first time not eating pork from the grocery store, I can that there is a difference in taste. The taste of a local pig from the Local Pig has a wonderful flavor, super juicy, and tender. Can’t wait to try the other cuts.

A cabbage side dish consisted of awesome cabbage, an apple, bacon, dijon mustard, white wine vinegar, and whipping cream, which settled well with the crispy pork pieces. I had seconds.

DSC_0309

Close-up.

8 thoughts on “Pork and Cabbage.

    • Thanks! 🙂

      Yeah, they were about a pound a piece! Since I did cut them, I thought they would dry out while cooking, but that wasn’t the case.

Leave a Reply

